Best Student Presentation Awards

Submission deadline is 11:59 PM ET on June 23, 2023 via the ScholarOne abstract submission site.

This award recognizes and encourages excellence in graduate studies in the field of magnetism. There will be a $1,000 one-year fellowship for the winner and $250 one-year fellowship for the remaining finalists. Conference attendees are encouraged to attend the talks and support these young scientists.



  • The nominee must be a full-time graduate student expecting to graduate within one year of the Conference. Postdoctoral fellows, undergraduates or non-students are not eligible.
  • The student’s area of research may either be theoretical or experimental in any of the general technical and scientific areas normally presented as part of the Conference.
  • The student’s regularly submitted abstract must be accepted as an oral presentation through the standard abstract review process by the Conference Program Committee as an oral presentation, and the student must present the work at the Conference.
  • The student must attend the Conference to present their talk in person.

Application Procedure

  • Students must submit an abstract to the Conference according to the submission guidelines and deadlines as outlined under Abstract Submissions. DO NOT identify the abstract as part of the student award competition in the text of the abstract. The Conference abstract submission deadline is 11:59 PM ET on Friday, June 23, 2023.
  • Award applications will be accepted via ScholarOne when you submit your abstract.
  • Students should select “Apply” under Awards in Step 3 of the submission process.  You must include the following supplemental information:
    • Expected graduation date, advisor name, advisor email;
    • Extended two-page abstract of your presentation which includes a short (300 words or less) explanation of your contribution to the work described and significance of the research results; and
    • Letter of support from the student’s advisor.

Congratulations to the MMM 2022 Conference Winners!